top of page
  • Writer's pictureCTASLA

2021 Connecticut Olmsted Award Presented to Groundwork Bridgeport!

The Connecticut Chapter of the American Society of Landscape

Architects (CTASLA) has presented its annual Connecticut Olmsted Award to

The award, named after Connecticut native Frederick Law Olmsted, who founded the

modern landscape architecture profession in the 19th century, is given annually by

the chapter to an organization or person from Connecticut who has employed the

principle of stewardship of the environment as a guiding force in their actions.

Groundwork Bridgeport's goals are to educate, engage, and revitalize using community-led design as a catalyst for change. "We aim to improve the overall well-being for residents of communities in Connecticut that have been neglected, denied resources, or otherwise ignored over the years, through activities that promote improvement in the environmental, economic, and social conditions of their cities while at the same time providing opportunities for youth to learn and engage with their community." Built projects inspired by student designs have already planted thousands of trees, shrubs, and perennials across the city.

More information about the award, including past recipients can be found on our Connecticut Olmsted Award page. Donations in support of Groundwork Bridgeport can be made on their website or by following this link.

A webinar program to present this award is planned for later this spring. Please keep an eye on our chapter calendar for more information.

234 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page