top of page
  • Writer's pictureCTASLA

2020 CTASLA Professional and Student Awards Have Been Posted

The Connecticut Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (CTASLA) has announced the winners of its annual Connecticut Professional Awards competition, recognizing excellence in landscape architectural design, planning and analysis, communication, and research. To be eligible, applicants must be a landscape architect or designer in the state of Connecticut, and the entrant or project location must be based in


CTASLA also included Student Awards this year for the first time, inviting students from the Landscape Architecture program at the University of Connecticut, or Connecticut residents who attend an accredited landscape architecture program out of state, to submit scholastic work for peer review.

"Our community is filled with energetic, resourceful, and passionate practitioners," said Oliver Gaffney, president of CTASLA and a landscape architect at TPA Design Group in New Haven. "The diversity of projects submitted speaks to the capacity of landscape architects to be communicators, educators, advocates, and problem solvers in communities all across the state."

Winners of the 2020 Connecticut ASLA Professional Awards competition include: Landscape Architectural Design / Municipal/Public Spaces

Langan (New Haven, CT) — MERIT AWARD for Bedford Square (Westport, CT)

Landscape Architectural Design / Residential

Artemis Landscape Architects (Sandy Hook, CT) — HONOR AWARD for Coastal Contemporary Landscape (Westport, CT)

Janice Parker Landscape Architects (Greenwich, CT) — MERIT AWARD for Private Eden (Redding, CT)

Anne Penniman Associates LLC (Essex, CT) — MERIT AWARD for Re-envisioning a Hamptons Landscape (Southampton, NY)

James Doyle Design Associates (Greenwich, CT) — MERIT AWARD for Greenwich Modern (Greenwich, CT)

Landscape Architectural Design / Corporate/Institutional

Milone & MacBroom, Inc. (Cheshire, CT) — HONOR AWARD for Outside Lies Magic (North Haven, CT)

Langan (New Haven, CT) — MERIT AWARD for Delamar West Hartford (West Hartford, CT) Landscape Planning & Analysis

Stantec (New Haven, CT) — HONOR AWARD for Albany Skyway Master Plan (Albany, NY) • Heritage Landscapes LLC (Norwalk, CT) — MERIT AWARD for Planting Fields Cultural Landscape Report (Oyster Bay, Long Island, NY)

Student Awards

Vanessa Ayala (of Elmhurst, NY), University of Connecticut — HONOR AWARD for Mending the Grid: Manifesting Sheldon-Charter Oak's Identity

Anthony Madore (of East Lyme, CT), University of Connecticut — MERIT AWARD for Farm River Resilience

Moises Hernandez-Rivera (of Bridgeport, CT), University of Connecticut — MERIT AWARD for Considine Estate-Sunset House

The jury for this year’s competition was comprised of members of the Ohio Chapter of ASLA.

Founded in 1899, the American Society of Landscape Architects is the national professional association for landscape architects, representing more than 15,000 members. Landscape architecture is a comprehensive discipline of land analysis, planning, design, management, preservation and rehabilitation. ASLA promotes the landscape architecture profession and advances the practice through advocacy, education, communication and fellowship.

66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page